ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award

The ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award recognises exceptional research achievements in applied and translational neuroscience.

ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award

The award is granted each year, alternating between pre-clinical and clinical research. The 2020 award is in clinical research.

Winner 2020
The 2020 ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award winner is Markus Heilig. He is awarded for his exceptional research contributions to the understanding of addiction and other stress-related disorders. To read the press release, click here.

The award
The award winner will be honoured with:

  • An unrestricted prize of EUR 10,000 (EUR 7,500 for the winner personally, and EUR 2,500 for a collaborator – or collaborators – of the winner’s choice.
  • A commemorative statuette and certificate.
  • An invitation to present the award plenary lecture during the ECNP Congress.
  • An invitation to publish a review article in European Neuropsychopharmacology (to be submitted within 6 months after the award is granted).

In addition, the winner of the award will be asked to join the Award Committee for the duration of one year (the year the next winner of his/her area, thus pre-clinical or clinical research is selected). The winner may be asked for an interview, to be published in ECNP communication channels.

Who is eligible?
Residents of European countries* who are affiliated with a university, research institution or hospital, and whose research originates primarily in Europe.

Members of the ECNP Executive Committee, the chair of the Scientific Programme Committee and the members of the Award Committee are not eligible until three years after their turn.
*The 47 countries of the Council of Europe, as well as Belarus and Israel.

How to nominate a candidate
The following electronic documents were requested to be submitted by e-mail:

  • A short statement (one page), explaining the significance, innovative value and core theme(s) of the applicant’s contribution to neuropsychopharmacology.
  • A summary curriculum vitae, including personal details, education and academic degrees, appointments, research experience, prizes, awards and honours, membership of professional organisations, editorial boards, publication lists, etc.

Selection of the winner
The award winner is selected by the ECNP Award Committee. The award cannot be shared and cannot be won more than once by the same individual.ECNP Award ceremony

Award ceremony
The award will be presented at the 33rd ECNP Congress Virtual, 12-15 September 2020.

Previous winners
View here previous ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award winners.